How Java Control Panel settings blocked my Java Web Start app


Java Web Start is a really handy way of deploying Java client applications through the web.  Often times resources, such as jar files, have to be provided for the app to work.  And if any of those jar files requires access to system resources, then they must be digitally signed.

If any of the jars that need to be signed are not, then the app will not launch.  You will receive the following.

Unable to launch the application

And if you click “Details” you will see which resource was not signed.  “Found unsigned entry in resource”

This is the error some of my users were receiving when they tried to launch my application.  Not all, but some. All my jars were signed.  I checked.   Upon investigation I learned that a setting in the Java Control Panel was preventing the launch.

You launch the Java Control Panel by clicking the Java icon in the Windows Control Panel.  It looks like this:

The setting that concerns this issue is locating under the Temporary Internet Files>>Settings.

The users that could not launch my application did not have “Keep temporary files on my computer” checked.  After checking it, the app launched properly.  I don’t know exactly why this fixed the problem, but it’s fixed and I’m happy.

2 thoughts on “How Java Control Panel settings blocked my Java Web Start app

Leave a Reply

