White Flag or Good Design Choice?


UNCLE!!!!!!!

Ok, I give!  I admit it!  I couldn’t figure out how to handle java.sql.Blob.  I’m sure one of you smarties out there can tell all about how to return a Blob from a java web service.  The last thing I tried was to send it as a byte array.  It appeared to work, but I couldn’t figure out what to do with it when I got it on the client side.  Then it occurred to me….

Why should my clients have to know how to deserialize, unpack (my blob data is packed), determine file type, and stream the file out to the browser?  Let the web application that hosts my web services do this!  Although I felt like it was a little of a cop out,  I changed that particular service into a Servlet and went along my merry way.  Works fine.

Of course, I won’t be able to sleep properly until I’ve solved the Case of the Unserializable BLOB!  (that’s not a Hardy Boys book is it?)

One thought on “White Flag or Good Design Choice?

  1. Pingback: Revisiting the whole binary serialization/deserialization thing… « Regular, Average Java Programmer

Leave a Reply

