First leg of the Journey is over


Well, my first Java Web Services project is complete.  I’ve successfully implemented both the Services and the Clients.   I have 10 different clients that access these web services and I was very pleased with how easy it was to set up the clients as WS consumers.   Would Mark Hansen (author of SOA Using Web Services) be pleased with my Starting From Java approach?  Well, in this case he would be mildly accepting of my solution.  At least he might give me a pat on the back for using JWS…and for reading 152 pages of his fine book.  

 I say “mildly accepting” because these were simple services that starting from java classes with no WSDL at all.  This is the scenario, I believe, for which the Starting From Java approach was intended.  It has its limitations, no doubt, by I can live with that because….

 LET’S FACE IT!!!  I’M JUST A REGULAR JAVA PROGRAMMER TRY TO GET MY WORK DONE!!!!

Leave a Reply

